Pacific Northwest “BEAR SCARES & MT LIONS!”

Excerpts from “BEAR SCARES & MOUNTAIN LIONS! By James Albert Waddell:

Mountain Lion! Picture by James Waddell

Download your FREE COPY! http://jamesalbertwaddell.com/freeebooks.html

One time when I was about 12 in the afternoon or so, my little brother Rob and I went uphill from our family home on 7.5 mile of Indian Creek Road.  I don’t remember just what the heck we were doing, but we went over near where there were fences between Major Huey’s land and our homestead.  That was in tall timber going into younger new trees that had been planted or regenerated on land that had been burned by wildfire in 1955.  We were above one of the old, sagging barbed wire fences when we spotted a young black bear coming uphill toward us.

“Watch this,” I told Rob. I slid underneath the fence toward the bear, waved my arms and yelled like crazy.  I guess I thought I was going to scare the bear!

The bear didn’t scare!  It came at a lope uphill toward us.

I guess I must’ve jumped the fence and crossed the little ridge “…a-running!”  I remember stopping on a large stump to make sure the bear didn’t get Rob.  Apparently, the bear stopped while we went downhill running. Probably laughing at us.

Preston Peak - Pacific Northwest Photo by James Waddell

Preston Peak – Pacific Northwest Photo by James Waddell

Down the hill a-runnin’ and yellin’!  We hit the house door running.  I told Mom about the bear coming after us while I headed for the rifles.

By the time I got a rifle, Mom was standing in front of the closed door.

“You ain’t goin’ anywhere.”

I guess the bear won that one.

Please download your full FREE copy of “BEAR SCARES & MOUNTAIN LIONS!” at: http://jamesalbertwaddell.com/freeebooks.html

About Jim waddell

Outdoorsman for fifty years, outdoor writer and photographer of Northern California, Oregon and Washington; a former logger, timber manager, licensed guide, horse and mule packer, hiker, hunter and a man of five generations of gold rush miners and settlers. I also am a descendent of Karuk Arara (people) of the Northern California Klamath River. If you enjoy travel, history, nature, and outdoor photography you will love learning more about the grand natural history of the wild, beautiful and scenic Pacific Northwest.
This entry was posted in education, history, Nature, Pacific Nortwest, Photography, tour guide, Wildlife and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment